

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Donna Smith, dsmith@imaging.org

IS&T 2023 HONORS AND AWARDS RECIPIENTS ANNOUNCED

The Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T) is pleased to announce the following individuals selected for 2023 Honors and Awards. Each recipient, by their exemplary contributions, has made unique and noteworthy advancements to the field of imaging science and technology.

Edwin H. Land Medal

Given in cooperation with Optica (formerly OSA) for pioneering work empowered by scientific research to create inventions, technologies, and products, the 2023 award is given to **Susana Marcos** (University of Rochester, US) "for pioneering developments and translation of diagnostic and correction ophthalmic technologies impacting millions of patients worldwide."

IS&T Fellowship

In recognition of outstanding achievement in imaging science or engineering, Fellow status is awarded to **Joyce E. Farrell** (Stanford University, US) "for outstanding achievement in imaging science, active participation in organizing Electronic Imaging conferences, and working tirelessly to transcend barriers and create spaces where companies and universities can convene to share knowledge."

Chester F. Carlson Award

Sponsored by the Xerox Corporation Wilson Center for Research and Technology, the Chester F. Carlson Award was established to recognize outstanding work in the science or technology of electrophotography. The 2023 award goes to **Natsuko Minegishi** (Konica Minolta, Inc., Japan) "for significant contributions to the field of electrophotographic process technology."

Gutenberg Award

Sponsored by HP Inc. and given for an outstanding technical achievement in, or contribution to, printing technology, the 2023 award goes to **Takashi Fukue** (Kanazawa Institute of Technology, Japan) and **Hirotoshi Terao** (ALPS ALPINE Co., Ltd., Japan) "for notable contributions to thermal imaging, including establishing the basis for model-based design in thermal printing, improving heat transfer efficiency in mobile printers such as POS terminals, and improvement of print quality and efficiency of the ZINK system, a compact color printer for smartphone image output."

Senior Membership

For long-term service to the Society at the national level, the 2023 award is bestowed on **Andrew Woods** (Curtin University, Australia) "for a longstanding track record serving the Electronic Imaging community, including: member of SD&A conference committee since 1996; a chair of the SD&A conference since 2000, the 3D Theatre Session since 2001, and the SD&A Demonstration Session since 1998; an instructor of the comprehensive short course 'Stereoscopic Imaging Fundamentals' for more than 20 years; and Symposium chair in 2005, 2018, and 2019."

Service Award

Recognizing service to a Chapter or to the Society, 2023 Service Awards are given to:

- **Charles A. Bouman** (Purdue University, US) "for his leadership as Symposium Chair of Electronic Imaging 2022."
- Fenella France (Library of Congress, US) "for her leadership as General Chair of Archiving 2022."
- **Rafal Mantiuk** (University of Cambridge, UK) "for his leadership as General Chair of London Imaging Meeting 2022: Display Science."
- **Peter Morovic** (HP Inc., Spain) "for his leadership as General Chair of CIC29 and CIC30."
- **Jeanine Nault** (Smithsonian Institution, US) "for her leadership as Series Chair and Program Organizer for DigiTIPS 2022."

Honors & Awards Related to Scholarship & Education

- The Raymond C. Bowman Award for excellence in imaging education is presented to Gordon Wetzstein (Stanford University, US) "for fostering, encouraging, and helping students develop their careers in imaging science through teaching, short courses, and continuously involving them in the presentation and networking experiences offered by the Electronic Imaging Symposium."
- The **Charles E. Ives/Journal Award** in recognition of the best engineering paper published in an IS&T journal the preceding year is presented to **Catherine Viengkham** and **Branka Spehar** (University of New South Wales, Australia) for "Beyond Visual Aesthetics: The Role of Fractal-scaling Characteristics across the Senses," which appeared in the *Journal of Perceptual Imaging* 5, 000406-1—000406-14 (2022).
- The **Itek Award** in recognition of the best student publication in an IS&T journal the preceding year is presented to **Xavier Morin-Duchesne** and **Michael S. Langer** (McGill University, Canada) for "Natural Scene Statistics and Distance Perception: Ground Surface and Non-ground Objects" which appeared in the *Journal of Perceptual Imaging* 5, 000503-1—000503-12 (2022).
- The **Raymond Davis Scholarship**, given to an advanced-level undergraduate(s) or a graduate student(s) with an academic and/or research focus in a field related to imaging, is presented to **Michael Zakariaie** (Johns Hopkins University, US) "for his academic and research focus on Bioinformatics, i.e., using knowledge in both biology and computer techniques to advance the understanding in patient care."

About the Society for Imaging Science and Technology

The Society for Imaging Science and Technology (IS&T) is an international professional non-profit dedicated to keeping members and other imaging professionals apprised of the latest developments in the field through conferences, educational programs, publications, and its website. IS&T programs encompass all aspects of the imaging workflow, which moves from capture (sensors, cameras) through imaging processing (image quality, color, and materialization) to hard and soft copy output (printing, displays, image permanence), and includes aspects related to human vision, such as image quality and color. The Society also focuses on a wide range of image-related applications, including security, virtual reality, machine vision, and data analysis.

Nominations for the 2024 Honors and Awards are being accepted until October 1, 2023.

For more information, visit www.imaging.org.